Daily Archives: June 20, 2013

REVAMP reveal track-list, guest musicians and new album trailer

Dutch metal act ReVamp will release their brand new, second album “Wild Card” on August 23rd through Nuclear Blast.

Today ReVamp released their new album trailer, where vocalist Floor Jansen is talking about the guest musicians playing on the record.

You can watch it below:

The track-list of “Wild Card” as follows:

01. ‘The Anatomy Of A Nervous Breakdown’: On The Sideline
02. ‘The Anatomy Of A Nervous Breakdown’: The Limbic System
03. Wild Card
04. Precibus
05. Nothing
06. ‘The Anatomy Of A Nervous Breakdown’: Neurasthenia
07. Distorted Lullabies
08. Amendatory
09. I Can Become
10. Misery’s No Crime
11. Wolf and Dog
Bonus track:
12. Sins

Those are the guest musicians on the record: Mark Jansen (Epica), Marcela Bovio & Johan van Stratum (Stream Of Passion), Daniel de Jongh (Textures) and Devin Townsend.

The result lives up to its name “Wild Card” in every single second! Regarding this, Floor explains: “This album became the most aggressive album I’ve ever made and in the lyrics I tell a lot about my personal experiences of the last years. This resulted into some heavy stories and some openhearted ‘screams’ I needed out of my system. It matches the violence of the music in a great way, we wrote as a great team! But not one sentence or word can really cover the contents of this album. Its variety in all its ingredients makes it almost impossible. A wild card is an unpredictable and unforeseeable factor. You don’t know what you’re getting, or when. That’s this album! It’s 100% ReVamp and it’s your wild card!

1st Trailer below:


www.revampmusic.com | www.facebook.com/ReVamp | www.nuclearblast.de/revamp


BANDS NEEDED – “Epiphany: Female Metal” Compilation CD

md-bands-neededMetal Divas is very proud to announce the first Volume of the “Epiphany: Female Metal” digital compilation album.

ONE MISSION – To get female fronted metal bands heard!

“Epiphany” is going to be an on-going effort which will be a digital collection of releases that contain some of the purest and most exciting upcoming female fronted metal from all the many facets of heavy music in the world right now.

We are currently looking for bands and artists that are interested in joining Metal Divas in our first compilation project, which will be released and distributed worldwide as a digital download for FREE. Therefore, we want to invite all bands and indie labels within the metal genres to submit their songs.

The digital compilation will contain brand new album artwork and a full color booklet with information including brief history for each band, web links, band photos, band logos and many more.

Metal Divas has the single aim of getting local level bands heard by people who would not normally get the chance to hear them. This is a promotional opportunity for your band to reach a highly targeted audience.

Hard working bands and artists wishing to secure releases should submit their material ASAP for consideration with full blogs / website details and information.

The cost to have a song on the “Epiphany: Female Metal” digital album compilation is €10 EUR / band. This is solely to cover graphic design and Google promotion expenses.

For details and queries:
Skype – metaldivas
Email – metaldivas@gmail.com

With a clear focus on supporting independent artists and labels, the compilations will hopefully provide a platform for emerging as well as established artists.

REVIEW: NYA – “Driving The Nails”

In 2011, melodic groove metallers Nya burst onto the scene with a whole new line-up which led to rave reviews for their self-titled EP and a headlining slot on The Doghouse Stage at the UK’s biggest rock festival; Download. Of course, it hasn’t stopped there for the band, after being announced for the MetalDays Festival in Slovenia this summer with a European tour in the making as well, the sky is the limit for Nya. “Driving The Nails In” is Nya’s follow-up EP (released November last year) to their 2011 self-titled EP.

nyaBack To You” kickstarts the EP with a catchy hook, flavoured with Nya’s own hint of melodic craftsmanship. Vocalist Nesh’s voice displays an unyielding hint of emotion that can be heard throughout the whole EP, as opposed to just this one song. The use of riffs that range from dulcet to ponderous underline the emotion that sails through the vocals. “You Are” is the lead single from the EP and from the first listen, to the twenty second listen, it’s obvious that’s it’s the strongest track on the EP, featuring the aforementioned emotional vocals as well as heavy, melodic and catch guitar segments, as performed by Joe and Dan, as well as a punchy use of bass.

Close Your Eyes” takes a step in the emotive and ariose direction, showing a fresh dynamic in the both the band’s overall sound and the EP, allowing it keep being exciting while the following track “Choir Invisible” is more copious in its sound. The element that really stands out is Woody’s bass work, having its own distinctive sound that stands out on its own but still melds into the song. The EP comes to its finale with the title track “Driving The Nails In”, which contains all the best elements of the EP and then some more including a grooveesque rhythm and an infectiously memorable chorus. Nesh’s vocals demonstrate a diverse sound, helping to create that poignant sound that has become so easily recognisable with Nya.

Driving The Nails” is one of the best possible examples when it comes to melodic passages and heavy riffs being welded together in music. Throw in the memorable lyrics, catchy vocal lines and the intelligent use of drums and you have a masterpiece of modern groove flavoured metal. It’s surprising that Nya haven’t been snapped up by a label yet but there’s still time for that!

RATING: 10/10

Driving The Nails In” – Track list:

1. Back To You
2. You Are
3. Open Your Eyes
4. Choir Invisible
5. Driving The Nails In

Nya is:

Anežka “Nesh” Piška – Vocals
Joe Rhodes – Guitars & Backing Vocals
Dan Baker – Guitars
Woody – Bass